关于FT公司

FT Technologies公司致力于设计并生产超声波风传感器,也即风速仪或空气流量传感器。 让FT旗下超声波风传感器脱颖而出的是公司测量风速、风向及温度时所使用的声共振技术。

Acu-Res®声共振技术利用声波在小型腔室内的共振进行测量,由公司执行主席Savvas Kapartis博士发明,并在1997年申请了专利, 小型空间中的强共振声波可提供易于测量的强大信号。 Acu-Res®声共振技术的信噪比相较于其他超声波技术强出40db。

凭借Acu-Res®声共振技术可使得小巧、易于加热的传感器即使在极端气候条件下也能够持续可靠地运行。 传感器的小体积意味着产品可以高效地使用电源,从而确保传感器不结冰。 Acu-Res®声共振技术从事实上将旗下传感器产品与机械传感器和其他超声波风传感器区分开来,使其成为更为牢固、可靠的测量解决方案。

自2002年起面向风能产业供应产品。

风能产业正在迅猛发展着,FT公司也伴随着产业一同成长。在过去的十年中,FT公司的规模扩大了三倍。我们目前拥有约100名员工,同时希望能够寻找到更多高素质的工程师人才。公司继续针对新产品和新生产技术进行投资。这就使得FT公司能够为风能产业内的客户提供更好的服务,同时还可为气象、海事和军事防御等领域供应具有独特优势的声共振风传感器产品。

风能产业正在迅猛发展着,FT公司也伴随着产业一同成长。在过去的十年中,FT公司的规模扩大了三倍。我们目前拥有约100名员工,同时希望能够寻找到更多高素质的工程师人才。公司继续针对新产品和新生产技术进行投资。这就使得FT公司能够为风能产业内的客户提供更好的服务,同时还可为气象、海事和军事防御等领域供应具有独特优势的声共振风传感器产品。

英国制造

风能产业正在迅猛发展着,FT公司也伴随着产业一同成长。在过去的十年中,FT公司的规模扩大了三倍。我们目前拥有约100名员工,同时希望能够寻找到更多高素质的工程师人才。公司继续针对新产品和新生产技术进行投资。这就使得FT公司能够为风能产业内的客户提供更好的服务,同时还可为气象、海事和军事防御等领域供应具有独特优势的声共振风传感器产品。

前景明朗

Acu-Res®声共振技术发明人Savvas Kapartis博士

Acu-Res®声共振技术发明人、FT公司执行主席Savvas Kapartis博士

Acu-Res®声共振技术发明人Savvas Kapartis博士

FT Technologies公司于1981年由Peter Elgar先生和Derek Cavendish-Pell先生创立。 公司最初的业务大多集中在军事防御内的研究项目上。 Savvas Kapartis博士于1986年在萨里大学(Surrey University)完成了电子学专业的学士和博士学位后加入FT公司。

在上世纪九十年代,军事领域方面提出要求,需要一款风传感器用于弹道气象领域。 当时所面临的问题是,该产品需要没有移动部件,且足够坚固以能够在战场设备中实现可靠运转。

当时,传统的声波风速计依赖于对声波飞行时间的测量。 这意味着产品的尺寸很大,指针很脆弱,很容易损坏。

某天,Savvas博士在上班途中思考问题时,在一组交通信号灯旁突然想到一个想法。 如果要在小型腔体内进行声波共振,并测量换能器之间反弹信号上的移动空气的相移会怎样? 然后,他假设,可以创建一个小型且易于加热的无移动部件的风传感器产品。

初代FT702不锈钢超声波风传感器

初代FT702不锈钢超声波风传感器

在接下来的几年中,Savvas博士和他的团队开发出将声共振与超声波结合并测量相移的理念。 他们在室内建造了自己的100m / s风洞,并编写了电子软件以将这一概念开发成产品原型。 Acu-Res®声共振技术于1997年获得专利。

它的第一款产品,FT702声共振风传感器,于2000年投入生产。 该产品具有不锈钢机身,并融合了许多军事方面的其他功能。 产品最初广泛地出售至风力传感应用领域,但是随着时间的推移,逐渐显现出来的是,该产品凭借其坚固性,成为了不断发展的风涡轮机行业的理想之选。 公司在2002年首次面向欧洲制造商进行销售。 2003年,Acu-Res®声共振创新技术入围了皇家工程院(Royal Academy of Engineering)的麦克罗伯特奖(MacRobert Award)的决赛。

公司业务发展迅速,如今,FT公司面向市场提供专门设计的风传感器,这些传感器产品均使用了公司独特的Acu-Res®声共振技术,可用于风能、国防、海洋、气象学,以及近期涉足的无人机、小型无人飞行器系统和航空航天应用中。

时间线

1981
1986
1990年代初
1990s年代后期
1997
2000
2002
2003
2004
2006
2009
2011
2014
2014
2015
2017
2017
2018
2018
2019

1981

公司成立
由Peter Elgar先生和Derek Cavendish-Pell先生创立。 开展军事防御领域内电子项目。

1986

Savvas Kapartis博士加入公司
Savvas Kapartis博士加入公司。 FT公司拥有六名员工,客户包括国防部、国防部大型承包商以及海外的类似机构。

1990年代初

风传感器标准要求
关于用于弹道气象学的风传感器的标准要求被提出。 产品必须没有活动零部件,并且要坚固到足以在战场设备上也能够可靠地运行。

1990s年代后期

发明声共振风速仪
Kapartis博士带领他的团队开发了将声共振技术与超声波相结合并测量相移的概念。

1997

Acu-Res®声共振技术获得专利
Kapartis博士带领他的团队开发了将声共振技术与超声波结合并测量相移的概念。

2000

首批FT702产品投产
FT702产品的第一个版本使用了不锈钢主体,可用于各种风传感器应用中,但大家很快发现,该传感器的设计使其非常适合正处于发展阶段的风能行业。

2002

面向风涡轮机产业的首单销售
全球最大的涡轮机制造商在对FT702产品进行试验与验证后,购买了数千个传感器产品。

2003

Acu-Res®声共振技术入围麦克罗伯特奖(MacRobert Award)最终轮

2004

硬质阳极铝制机身
FT702的不锈钢机身被新的硬质阳极氧化铝设计所取代。 该材质具有更好的抗腐蚀性。

2006

FT公司获得女王企业奖永续发展奖(Queen’s award for Enterprise & Sustainable Development)

随着风电行业的蓬勃发展,公司在丹麦成立了业务发展办公室。

2009

Teddington的新工厂
公司在特丁顿(Teddington)增建了一家工厂,以容纳风洞并提高FT702的产量,进而满足风涡轮机制造商不断增长的需求。

2011

FT702LT-V22产品发布
V22版本产品具有出色的雷击和EMC防护能力、智能快速响应加热器控制、更坚固的机体、更好的密封性以及更多用户可配置参数,包括额外的校准表等。

随着北美地区产品销售量的增加,公司在德克萨斯州开设了业务发展办公室。

2014

在加拿大TechnoCentre Éolien进行测试
一场为期五个月的独立测量活动在加拿大魁北克省的Technocentre Éolien开展,以测试寒冷气候条件下的数据可获得性和防冰性能。 FT的传感器实现了>99.9998%的数据可获得性。

2014

任命中国市场技术代表
FT公司日前任命其驻京全职技术支持经理,以此表明对蓬勃发展的中国风能行业及其分销商的重视与承诺。

2015

FT722与FT742产品发布
产品的创新设计集成了一系列“湍流”,能够调整气流、实现迄今为止最好的准确性。 FT742产品可测得的最高风速高达75m/s。

2017

位于泰晤士河畔桑伯里(Sunbury-on-Thames)的新工厂和总部
为了满足不断增长的市场需求,FT公司迁至了位于萨里(Surrey)泰晤士河畔桑伯里(Sunbury-on-Thames)的一处全新工厂,并在此设立了新的总部。

2017

在美国新罕布什尔州华盛顿山进行极端天气试验
FT742-DM传感器产品安装在拥有“全球最恶劣气候” 称号的华盛顿山顶。 天文台的气象学家对该产品的性能印象深刻,因此将其选择作为永久使用的风传感器。

2018

声温读数
凭借升级后的软件,FT722与FT742数字型传感器不仅能够测量风速与风向,还可测量声温读数。

2018

用于无人机上的FT205轻质传感器
推出首款新一代轻型超声波风传感器。 FT205产品由石墨和尼龙复合材料制成,重量仅为100克。

2019

Acu Vis 2.0发布
Acu Vis软件2.0版本能够更为容易地为客户设置传感器产品的配置。 该软件具有更直观的用户界面,并提供中文、韩文、日文、法文、西班牙文以及英文选项。

FT超声波风传感器在华盛顿山上进行测试

案例分析

FT传感器的应用遍布全球,从阿拉斯加到萨拉戈萨,从北极到南极。 作为风涡轮机行业内的领先供应商,FT旗下传感器同时也应用在全球一些最高建筑物的顶部、安装在便携式气象站上用以追踪飓风,以及装甲车辆、无人机和海上导航应用中。

阅读更多案例分析

About FT Technologies

FT Technologies specialises in the design and manufacture of ultrasonic wind sensors – also known as anemometers or air-flow sensors. What makes FT ultrasonic wind sensors unique is our use of acoustic resonance for measuring wind speed, direction and temperature.

Invented by our Executive Chairman, Dr Savvas Kapartis, and patented in 1997, Acu-Res® Technology uses an acoustic wave which is resonated inside a small cavity. A strong resonating sound wave in a small space provides a large signal that is easy to measure. Acu-Res® has a signal to noise ratio more than 40db stronger than other ultrasonic technologies.

Using Acu-Res® Technology results in a compact, easily heated sensor which operates reliably, even under extreme weather conditions. The sensor’s small size means that power is used very efficiently ensuring that the sensor can stay ice-free. Essentially, Acu-Res® sets FT sensors apart from mechanical and other ultrasonic technologies to give a more robust and reliable wind measurement solution.

Supplying the wind industry since 2002

FT Technologies was founded in 1981 and has been in business for nearly 40 years. We began selling wind sensors to the wind turbine industry in 2002. We are now the industry’s largest supplier, with the world’s top turbine manufacturers amongst our customers. With over 70% of all offshore wind turbines using an FT sensor, we are the undisputed market leader in this sector.

All the design and manufacture of our sensors is carried out by our highly skilled and creative team in our factory in Sunbury-on-Thames, Surrey, UK. Our head office is also in Sunbury but, as 99% of our products are exported, we also have sales offices in Denmark and the USA. We use a network of distributors to supply our customers in South America and Asia, and have dedicated technical support staff in China.

Made in Britain

The wind energy industry is growing significantly, and FT is growing with it. In the last decade, we have tripled in size. We now have around 100 employees and are always looking for more high quality engineers. We continue to invest in new products and new manufacturing technology. This will enable us to better serve our existing customers in wind energy and to offer the unique strengths and advantages of our acoustic resonance wind sensors to more customers in meteorology, marine and defence.

The future is bright

Dr Savvas Kapartis and the invention of Acu-Res® Technology

Dr. Savvas Kapartis Inventor of Acu-Res® acoustic resonance technology, Executive Chairman of FT Technologies

Dr. Savvas Kapartis the inventor of Acu-Res® Technology

FT Technologies was founded in 1981 by Peter Elgar and Derek Cavendish-Pell. The business originally concentrated on defence based research projects. In 1986, Dr Savvas Kapartis joined the company after completing his BSc and PhD in Electronics at Surrey University.

In the 1990s there was a military requirement for a wind sensor for ballistic meteorology. The problem was, it had to have no moving parts and be strong enough to operate reliably on battlefield equipment.

At that time, conventional sonic anemometers relied on time of flight measurement. This meant they were large in size, with delicate arms that could easily be damaged.

Pondering the problem on his way into work one day, Savvas was sitting at a set of traffic lights when he suddenly had an idea. What if you were to resonate an acoustic wave inside a small cavity, and measure the phase shift of the moving air on the signal bouncing between the transducers? Then, he hypothesised, you could create a small, and therefore easily heated, wind sensor with no moving parts.

The original FT702 stainless steel ultrasonic wind sensor

The original FT702 stainless steel ultrasonic wind sensor

Over the next few years, Savvas and his small team developed the concept of combining acoustic resonance with ultrasonics and the measurement of phase shift. They built their own 100m/s wind tunnel in house and wrote the electronics software to develop the concept into a prototype. Acu-Res® Technology was patented in 1997.

Its first product, the FT702 acoustic resonance wind sensor, went into production in 2000. This had a stainless steel body combined with other features that suited many military uses. It was sold to a wide range of wind sensing applications but it gradually became clear that the product’s robustness made it ideal for the developing wind turbine industry. The first sales were made to European manufacturers in 2002. In 2003 the innovative Acu-Res® Technology was a finalist for the Royal Academy of Engineering’s prestigious MacRobert Award.

The business developed rapidly and, today, FT Technologies supplies specially designed wind sensors, all incorporating our unique Acu-Res® Technology, for use in wind energy, defence, marine, meteorology and, most recently, in drone, sUAS and aerospace applications.

Timeline

1981
1986
Early 1990s
Late 1990s
1997
2000
2002
2003
2004
2006
2009
2011
2014
2014
2015
2017
2017
2018
2018
2019

1981

Company founded
FT Technologies is founded by Peter Elgar and Derek Cavendish-Pell. Work begins on defence related electronics projects.

1986

Dr Savvas Kapartis joins
Dr Savvas Kapartis joins the company. Employing six people, FT’s customer base includes the Ministry of Defence, the large MoD contractors and similar organisations overseas.

Early 1990s

Wind sensor requirement
A requirement is identified for a wind sensor for ballistic meteorology. It must have no moving parts and be rugged enough to operate reliably on battlefield equipment.

Late 1990s

Acoustic resonance anemometer invented
Dr Kapartis and his small team develop the concept of combining acoustic resonance with ultrasonics and the measurement of phase shift.

1997

Acu-Res® Technology is patented
Dr Savvas Kapartis and his small team develop the concept of combining acoustic resonance with ultrasonics and the measurement of phase shift.

2000

First production units of the FT702
The first version of the FT702 has a stainless steel body and is used in a wide variety of wind sensing applications but it soon becomes clear that the sensor’s design makes it ideal for the developing wind industry.

2002

First sales to the wind turbine industry
The FT702 is trialled, validated and subsequently bought in the thousands by the world’s largest turbine manufacturers.

2003

Acu-Res® reaches final of MacRobert Award

2004

Aluminium body hard-anodised
The FT702’s stainless steel body is replaced by a new hard anodised aluminium design. This gives much better corrosion-resistance.

2006

FT wins the Queen’s award for Enterprise & Sustainable Development

As the wind power industry flourishes, a business development office is established in Denmark.

2009

New factory in Teddington
A new factory is built in Teddington to house the wind tunnel and ramp up production of the FT702 to meet the growing demand from wind turbine manufacturers.

2011

FT702LT-V22 launched
The V22 features superior lighting and EMC protection, intelligent fast response heater control, a stronger body with better sealing and more customer-configurable parameters including an additional calibration table.

As sales to North America increase, a business development office is opened in Texas.

2014

Testing at TechnoCentre Éolien in Canada
A five-month independent measurement campaign is conducted at the Technocentre Éolien, Quebec, Canada, to test data availability and anti-icing performance in cold climate conditions. FT sensors achieve >99.9998% data availability.

2014

Technical representation appointed in China
FT shows its commitment to the burgeoning Chinese wind industry and its distributors by appointing a permanent Technical Support Manager based in Beijing.

2015

FT722 and FT742 launched
The new design incorporates a series of “turbulators” that condition the air flow to deliver our highest levels of accuracy yet. The FT742 reads wind speeds up to 75m/s.

2017

New factory and head office in Sunbury-on-Thames
In order to meet growing demand, FT moves to a brand new factory and establishes a new head office in Sunbury-on-Thames, Surrey.

2017

Extreme weather trial at Mount Washington, NH, USA
An FT742-DM sensor is installed at the summit of Mount Washington “home of the world’s worst weather”. The observatory’s meteorologists are so impressed with its performance, they choose it as their permanent wind sensor.

2018

Acoustic temperature readings
Updated software means FT722 and FT742 digital sensors now read acoustic temperature as well as wind speed and direction.

2018

FT205 lightweight sensor for drones
The first in a new generation of lightweight ultrasonic wind sensors is launched. Made from a graphite and nylon composite, the FT205 weighs only 100g.

2019

Acu Vis 2.0 released
Acu Vis software version 2.0 makes it easier for customers to change the configurable settings on their sensor. It has a more intuitive user interface and is available in Chinese, Korean, Japanese, French and Spanish as well as English.

FT ultrasonic wind sensors were tested at Mount Washington

Case Studies

FT sensors are used all over the world, from Alaska to Zaragoza, from the north pole to the south pole. The leading supplier to the wind turbine industry, FT sensors are also used on the top of some of the world’s tallest buildings, on portable weather stations used to chase hurricanes, on armoured vehicles, on drones and in marine navigation.

Read CASE STUDIES